Seeing the light at the end of the tunnel…

A lot (well, maybe not *a lot*) has happened since I last blogged.  But here’s what I can say:

1.  Cam and I decided to rent this house.  We found someone who wants to do a “lease to own” type of deal.  Which works out for us, so we can cut out all the garbage of putting the house on the market, being stressed out, etc.

2.  Refinancing of the house.  Hopefully we can shed a few dollars off the mortgage while we still have it in our possession.

3. I QUIT TARGET!!! (well I put in my 2 weeks notice anyway)

The folks that want to move into our house, want to move in NOW… whereas we still haven’t found a place to live in ATL. 

We still need to find a place to live.  I *really* like a house I saw for rent in Woodstock, GA… great schools (which has been a problem in the areas I’ve been looking), although it looks like it’s in demand (sigh) so I’m not even sure if we’ll get it.  But it’s a house that’s just about perfect for our family (about the same size as we’ve got here in STL)  … so we’ll see.  They are doing an open house on Sunday (the 15th).  The landlord sent me several pictures of the house (they looked fine)  … to be honest, as long as the house is big enough to house our brood, and the schools are good… I don’t really care what the house looks like.  Well I do, I mean I don’t want a decrepit, falling down kind of house … but a normal house is just fine.  Oh, and if we don’t get this particular house, there’s a townhome in Alpharetta that I wouldn’t mind living in either.

Initially, we thought about getting an apartment … however finding an apartment in the area was not that easy.  We have 3 children … so 4 bedrooms would be optimal… but we were accepting of 3 bedrooms only because.  But the square footage… I absolutely can’t live in something smaller than 1500 sq ft.  (Our house now is about 1800 sq ft)  Apartments/townhomes just don’t seem to be built like that.  Or be prepared to pay a lot (more than our mortgage!) … so no thanks to that. 

I did a few searches, and I did come to find that Woodstock place… and that Alpharetta place. I may call realtors in that area to see if they rent homes.  I’m thinking I’ll come into something soon.  Hopefully… at least before my trip down there on the 14/15/16th of August!

Which leads me to the elation I’m feeling about my trip next weekend.  I put my 2 weeks notice at Target last week.  I really felt like I wasn’t getting anything done, if I was worried about my job at Target, and since I hate working there (minus a few cool people I worked with)  and Cam’s paychecks are coming in now… WHY AM I STILL THERE?  So my last day is the 14th of August (Dad’s b-day btw)  … so after work (my last day!), I’m picking up the kids from MIL’s house and driving down to TN that day.  And then going to GA the morning after! 

School.  That’s one thing that is really bothering me.  I hate that I’m sending the kids to 1 school for a few weeks and then taking them out of school for at least a week or two, and then putting them in a school in GA.  I wish I had something a little bit more concrete.  But I don’t, and I know when it’s all said and done, we’ll figure out what needs to be done.  I really want this to go well, and I don’t want the kids to suffer in the meantime.

And yes, I’ll be able to see Cam again. IN THE FLESH not on SKYPE! The kids will be excited, I’ll be excited… though I’m not exactly thrilled with the idea of driving into Atlanta… but since it’ll be a Saturday, (I hope) the traffic won’t be that bad.

Today I work at Target from 11:15-7pm.  It sucks, because Dad is here and I wanted to spend some time with him… but at least he’ll have the kids (and the kids love spending time with him)  … being in GA, I’ll be able to spend more time with my family and that truly makes me happy. 

 

So I close this blog post on a happy note… finally I am able to see myself in Atlanta in the very near future… though, if only I could finalize plans on a house down there.

~ by simoneinatl on August 6, 2009.

Leave a comment